Everything is coming at me way too fast. It was as if the world around me is like the series of lights and flashes that are in those modern pictures that I see displayed in The Square. That was me lights and flashes. Karen sat in the middle of Kevin and I her red curls bouncing in my face. If she wants this she can have this I don’t want anything to with it something about Kevin made me say yes. He said please I never pictured that happening ever. I feel obligated to stay and suffer through all her ideas. Most of them were stupid Kevin locks eyes with me with same expression. Everything she is saying is stupid none of it made since she’s just happy to be here.

“Karen we’re super excited that you have so many ideas. It is ok if I talk to Jess alone?”

Karen smile grows ten times wider and her eyes bigger. “Sure.”

She jumps out of the chair moving to the back of the classroom smiling and giving her thumbs up. I roll my eyes and face Kevin who’s now in her spot which I’m sure it’s warm by now I chuckle at the thought. “Look Karen is cool and all but these ideas are crazy.”

I pick up the paper and read, “Have someone fake being hurt in the hallway to see if someone will help.”

“Hey that one might be pretty cool. We can have someone fake break their leg with blood and everything,” Kevin calls out.

“That will cause panic everyone will run out of the hallway like it’s a zombie apocalypse.”

He laughs, “Yeah you’re right.”

“We could do that but have a demonstration of it like people can come in a classroom to see what to do.”

He smiles. His teeth are so perfect and white straight like that they were placed by angels and his skin smooth and olive not one blemish not a scar. I never realize how perfect he is until now. I get lost in him my brain is foggy I try to think but I can’t. I can’t make out what he’s saying his lips are perfect. He’s perfect.

“Hey, hey Jess are you ok?”

He touches my shoulder taking out of the trance, “Yeah I’m fine.” I fix my shirt and move my hair back since I feel like I’m sweating I may not be but feel like it’s one hundred degrees in here.

“I said that the demo in the classroom is a good idea I’ll take this to the Coach to see what he thinks.”

The bell rings and it’s over. It’s over too soon I sit there any he and everyone else is making their way out of the door. “I’ll see you tomorrow,” he yells out.

I wave and smile.  I can’t speak my brain is back in the fog and I feel tingly all over. What just happened? Karen dances around like she won the lottery. I ignore her and pullout my pocket mirror and look at my plain face. I need a change a makeover I need to be a new Jessica.

I ditch Jessica telling her that I had a doctor’s appointment. I drive to mall looking around to see if anyone sees me. Just a few moms and older couples no one from school. Great. I go into the make-up shop where I see Marcy testing makeup with a few other girls out of boredom. I try to turn around before she can see me.

“Hey Jessica!”

I snap my fingers, take a deep breath and turn around. I wave but she runs up and squeezes me tightly.

“I didn’t know you like make-up. Oh, are you trying to cover up the thing?” she asks pointing to my swollen lip.

“I can’t really cover it up its swollen I got hit in the face with a football kinda hard.”

She laughs and it roars though the room over the generic pop music. “We can’t cover it up but we can focus on other things like your pale skin, or your bushy eyebrows or your lack of eyelashes.”

The room becomes overwhelming or I just shrunk about three sizes. All this isn’t me. What was I thinking?  She squeezes my arm pulling me to the makeup chair. “Don’t feel bad all of this can be fixed. Don’t worry Jess I’m going to help you. I’m finally glad that you decided to step into the rest of the world.”

She forces me into the chair. Marcy is strong than she looks. Does the volleyball coach make them lifts weights? She pulls out sample and sample comparing it against my skin. What did I get myself into?

Hope you’ve enjoyed the story so far don’t forget to check it out from the beginning down below

That Time When

Give It A Day

We Do Now

 

Leave a Reply

