college

Well day 3 in this blogging challenge asks my views on education. A general topic that I go in many different directions with that topic. Sitting around most of the day wondering which direction should I take and I thought a lunch that I had with two of my former college mates that came to visit. Sitting at the coffee table with them not telling them at the time I had to dig out of the piggy bank of a few ones out just so I can enough to meet them. I listened to their stories one friend we’ll call her Tabitha was still at waitress job that she got when we were juniors in college and working part time at non profit as receptionist still not in her working in her field not even six years later. My other friend we’ll call her Sharon fared better than two of she she had a job in her field working in an architect firm but was miserable just drawing windows and helping someone else recognize their dream. I on the other hand had an finished novel that I was too afraid too look for an agent or write a proposal letter for because it may get rejected. Meanwhile working at night answering emails from customers at shoe retailer. I was surprised at all of the misspellings and grammar errors.

Back to the question…Was college worth it?

We all said no instantaneously for the following reasons.

1.We had no clear direction.

2. There was no plan cultivate our skills during college.

3. We did not have a mentor.

4. We did not have an exit strategy.

 Clear direction: Most of us were told from childhood to go to college so you can get a career and be successful without any clear direction why or what do to get this career. It was almost as if this career was going to be handed to us as a consolation prize for even going to college. There should have been research involved. What are you good at? Is there a market for it? What is the best way to get a career in that market?  How can you stand out with in that niche?  How are you going to achieve that while you’re in college? This is your investment think before you leap.

Plan to cultivate skills: Taking classes of coarse was the whole reason why we go to college in the first place but the real challenge is making is this work for you in the real world. This is where networking comes in. Whether it’s a sorority/fraternity, a club, a form of student council, internships. Find a way to apply this to help you in the future.

 Have a mentor: That seams simple right. Find some who is where you want to be and pick their brain, ask them questions, see how they got to where you want to be. I know for a fact that I wasted this opportunity I should have sought out more than one person that was working in the career that I wanted. I interned but I didn’t take advantage I just did the internship and went to class just to say I did it and put it on my resume. What I suggest is find a mentor ask and adsorb as much as you can from them they’ve been where you are any advise can be helpful.

Exit Strategy: You have a degree. Congratulations! Now what? Look for a entry level position in your field and work you way up right? Well since we were in a recession at the time there were no jobs at all in my field. So I did office jobs and tutoring on the side to pay the bills so that way I can use my degree in some way. I should have an exit strategy. Do you want start you business? Go to graduate school? Want to write that best seller? Think about it an start before you graduate that way it’s already in motion not saying there won’t be bumps along  the way but at least your’re focused on your dream.

So is college worth it? I will say yes if you have a plan and know exactly what you want to do with your investment of getting a degree. I will say no if your are going for the experience and grow and find yourself. Honestly we live in a world where you can’t waste time trying to do something that you are going to do naturally with time. It’s not worth being thousands of dollars in debt to have an experience working at a job you hate and all you have are memories.

This is apart of my 31 day blog challenge. If you wanted to join follow me on twitter @Trishelle84 make you add #31dayblogchallenge.

0ea79078-1c72-4935-84e9-b0ee3b141028_zps239c4f1a

Tell me what you think below,

Trish

Leave a comment